Home / Livestock / 2011 Ohio State Fair

2011 Ohio State Fair

Ohio State Fair Sale of Champions Results

Continue reading

Read More »

2011 Jr. Fair Steer Show Results

Purebred Champion: Curtis Harsh, Delaware County (Maine-Anjou Champion)
Purebred Res. Champ: Austin Trbovich, Carroll County (Maine-Anjou Res. Champion)

Champion Angus: Jordan Mullett, Coshocton County
Res. Champ: Brook Roberts, Morrow County

Champion Chianina: Hali Lake, Greene County
Res. Champ: Clayton Wildermuth, Shelby County

Hereford Champion: Samantha Norman, Fulton County
Res. Champ: Skyler Plank, Clark County

Maine-Anjou Champion: Curtis Harsh, Delaware County
Res. Champ: Austin Trbovich, Carroll County

Shorthorn Champion: Cole Foor, Licking County
Res. Champ: Brandon Klehm, Stark County

Shorthorn Plus Champion: Jake Parkinson, Licking County
Res. Champ. Meghan Reed, Sandusky County

AOB Champion: Lauren Ott, Huron County
Res. Champ: Kelsie Hinds, Tuscarawas

Continue reading

Read More »

Jr. Fair Barrow Show Results








Grand Champion Junior Dark Cross Barrow: Levi Stauffer, Forest
Res. Grand Champion Junior Dark Cross Barrow: Thorpe Connolly, Urbana

Grand Champion Junior Light Cross Barrow: Troy Elwer, Delphos
Res. Grand Champion Junior Light Cross Barrow: Connor Rayburn, Orient

Grand Champion Duroc: Frank Reithman
Res. Champion: Andre Miller

Grand Champion Yorkshire: Craig Schiff
Res. Champion: Katie Siegel

Grand Champion Berkshire: Nick Topp
Res. Champion: Christina Norman

Grand Champion Chester White: Bailey Creager
Res. Champion: Mitchell Scott

Grand Champion Poland: David Devore
Res. Champion: Tyla Voight

Grand Champion Hampshire: David Korb
Res. Champion: Leighann Shanklin

Grand Champion Landrace: Zachary Zeedyk
Res. Champion: Garth Ruff

Grand Champion Spot: Mykenzie Neanen
Res. Champion: Cierra Whitesel

Grand Champion Tamworth: Victoria Devore
Res. Champion: Kyle Stiver

Grand Champion Hereford: Victoria Devore
Res. Champion: Levi Montoya

Continue reading

Read More »

Clean sweep for the winner of the Ohio State Fair Rib-off



Armed with pork and ready to impress an audience and judges, seven teams from across Ohio, gathered in Columbus for the 15th annual Ohio Pork Rib-Off. This event invites teams to prepare both ribs and pulled pork that are evaluated by a judging panel for taste, tenderness and appearance.

This year, those challenged with selecting Ohio’s top teams were Woody Johnson, 92.3 WCOL; Shelley Mann, Columbus Crave Magazine; Virgil Strickler, General Manager, Ohio Expo Center and State Fair; Corporal Craig Sinclair, Clear Channel Radio Traffic and Johnny DiLoretto, Fox 28.

John DeSando of WCBE served as the competition emcee and announced the following award winners:

Grand Champion Ribs: Hickory River Smokehouse, Tipp City

Reserve Champion Ribs: Tony’s Restaurant, Findlay

Grand Champion Pulled Pork: Hickory River Smokehouse, Tipp City

Reserve Pulled Pork: Wally’s Great American BBQ, Tiffin

People’s Choice Award Winner: Tony’s Restaurant, Findlay

Best BBQ Sauce containing Soy: Hickory River Smokehouse, Tipp City

In addition to $3,000 in prizes, top teams received commemorative banners and silver serving trays.

Continue reading

Read More »