Home / Crops / Ohio Soybean Council announces Board of Trustees election
Photo by Lea Kimley.

Ohio Soybean Council announces Board of Trustees election

The Ohio Soybean Council (OSC) Board of Trustees has four district seats up for election this year. All eligible candidates interested in running for the OSC Board must obtain at least 15 valid signatures on the petition available at www.soyohio.org/petition.

All petitions must be submitted to the Ohio Department of Agriculture (ODA) by mail, and must be postmarked no later than July 6, 2020 and received by July 13, 2020.

OSC is the Qualified State Soybean Board for Ohio and manages state soybean checkoff dollars. The OSC Board is made up of farmer volunteers who direct the investments of checkoff dollars to improve the profitability of Ohio soybean farmers.

Districts up for election are:

District 3: Ashland, Ashtabula, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Huron, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Richland, Summit, and Trumbull Counties
Incumbent Jeff Magyar is eligible to run for another term
District 4: Defiance, Paulding, and Van Wert Counties
Incumbent Mike Heffelfinger is eligible to run for another term
District 6: Crawford, Seneca, and Wyandot Counties
Incumbent Mike Mutchler is eligible to run for another term
District 11: Clark, Greene, and Madison Counties
Incumbent Bob Suver is eligible to run for another term

To be eligible for election to the OSC Board, you must live in a county in one of the districts listed and be a soybean producer engaged in the growing of soybeans in the State of Ohio who owns or shares the ownership and risk of loss of soybeans at any time during the three-year period immediately preceding November 15 of the current year.

Eligible producers who have contributed to the soybean checkoff and have submitted a petition with the signatures of 15 other eligible soybean producers who reside in the respective district shall be determined by ODA as candidates for election. OSC Trustees serve one term of three years and may be elected to serve up to three consecutive terms.

For questions, please contact Kirk Merritt, OSC Executive Director, at kmerritt@soyohio.org.

Check Also

Mike Ralph of Marion County elected to OSC Board of Trustees

Mike Ralph, a soybean farmer from Marion County, has been elected to a three-year term …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *