Home / Crops / Ohio Soybean Council announces Board of Trustees election

Ohio Soybean Council announces Board of Trustees election

The Ohio Soybean Council (OSC) Board of Trustees has five district seats up for election this year. All eligible candidates interested in running for the OSC Board must obtain at least 15 valid signatures on the petition available at www.soyohio.org.

OSC is the Qualified State Soybean Board for Ohio and manages state soybean checkoff dollars. The OSC Board is made up of farmer volunteers who direct the investments of checkoff dollars to improve the profitability of Ohio soybean farmers.

Districts up for election are:

  • District 1: Fulton, Henry, Lucas, and Williams Counties incumbent Todd Hesterman is eligible to run for another term
  • District 2: Erie, Ottawa, Sandusky, and Wood Counties incumbent Nathan Eckel is eligible to run for another term
  • District 5: Allen, Hancock, and Putnam Counties incumbent Bill Bateson is eligible to run for another term
  • District 9: Delaware, Marion, Morrow, and Union Counties incumbent Bret Davis is term-limited
  • District 13: Adams, Brown, Clermont, Clinton, Highland, and Warren Counties incumbent Amy Sigg Davis is term-limited

All petitions must be submitted to the Ohio Department of Agriculture (ODA) by mail, and must be postmarked no later than July 6, and received by ODA no later than July 13, 2018. To be eligible for election to the OSC Board, you must live in a county in the districts listed, and be a soybean producer engaged in the growing of soybeans in the State of Ohio, who owns or shares the ownership and risk of loss of soybeans at any time during the three year period immediately preceding November 15 of the current year.  Eligible producers who have contributed to the soybean checkoff and have submitted a petition with the signatures of 15 other eligible soybean producers who reside in the respective district shall be determined by ODA as candidates for election. OSC Trustees serve one term of three years, and may be elected to serve up to three consecutive terms.

For questions, please contact Kirk Merritt, OSC Executive Director, at kmerritt@soyohio.org.

Check Also

John Linder NCGA First VP on NCGA policy issues

National Corn Growers Association First Vice President John Linder from Mt Gilead Ohio talks with …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *